Gardening indoors – because you can

Grow stuff in your house!

More updates – and some new stuff that I’m working on!

What you're looking at in this picture (to the right) is a project that I just started a few hours ago. Lemons tree from seed!

What you’re looking at in this picture (to the right) is a project that I just started a few hours ago. Lemons tree from seed!

Christmas is over. Finally. Now that we’re getting ready for the new year, I have a little time on my hands – which means I can post more often! I’ve already updated you on my pineapple tops, but since it’s been more than a little while since then, there’s more to update you on!

Holy hell! I cannot believe how much these roots have grown!

Holy hell! I cannot believe how much these roots have grown!

The rooting process of these pineapple tops is coming along a lot better than I expected! I have a lot of slow-moving projects that are still in germination stage, so to see these progress as rapidly as they do is just fucking wonderful. It makes me smile. I like smiling. As you can see from these images, in comparison to the ones you may have seen before, there has been a lot of root growth! The leaves are looking pretty good as well – there hasn’t been much browning at all since the last update.

IMAG0837 IMAG0839IMAG0838

You may not be able to tell due to the quality of the images above, but there is a thin mucous-like membrane growing over each root. I haven’t done any research at all on this, but I’m going to go ahead and assume that it’s a good thing – it’s happening with all of them, so at least it’s consistent. My original plan when I started these three weeks ago was to change the water regularly, but I haven’t done that too much at all to be honest with you. Most of the information that I’ve gathered suggests that I should change the water only if it needs it. That doesn’t seem to be the case at all! I’m pretty sure that I’ll be planting these within the next month or so, and I can hardly wait! I’m going to have to get some more supplies though. Lots of supplies.

This pineapple top was started on Christmas day. I'll let you know how this one is doing later.

This pineapple top was started on Christmas day. I’ll let you know how this one is doing later.

There’s also a brand new addition to my pineapple troupe – This one is from Chiquita, and I set it up a little differently than the others – I wanted to make sure that it stayed completely suspended instead of resting on it’s bottom. I used an empty water bottle that I cut in half, and that works pretty well. You already know I’m going to keep you updated on this one as well.

It’s getting late, and I have some stuff to do tomorrow, so I’m going to end this post – make sure to offer your suggestions if you have any, and follow if you wish to keep up! Enjoy the rest of the year – I’m sure you’ll hear from me before then.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “More updates – and some new stuff that I’m working on!

  1. How did your pineapples do once you potted them? I am currently trying to grow one in compost but its just looking dead at the moment. I’m living in hope that roots are growing underneath though. Think I need to try your water method.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 922 other followers

